High Performance Composite
Design and Manufacturing
Canada Research Chair - Tier 1

Dynamic compaction on fibrous reinforcements

Professor : Edu Ruiz
Project coordinator : Julian Gutiérrez, Ph.D. student

Abstract

photo

The comprehension of fibrous material response when compressed during composite manufacturing by Liquid Composite Molding (LCM) is essential to better understand these procedures. It is well known that some aspects like the mould closing speed and force, the resulting part thickness and the variation of the permeability tensor, are linked to the reinforcement nature. Some experimental observations have shown in the past that the behaviour of fibrous materials under compression evolves in time. Under this viscoelastic approach, this project aims to study the response of reinforcement during the manufacturing process.

For this research, some equipment such as a Dynamic Mechanical Thermal Analyser (DMTA) and a Universal Testing Machine has been modified to apply precise compaction cycles on fibers. The viscoelastic behaviour of fibrous materials will be studied according to temperature, fiber volume fraction and compaction speed variations. The effect of fibers nature and structure will be also investigated. Amongst the reinforcement to be tested, there are glass fibers, carbon fibers and natural fibers, disposed in continuous filament random mat, taffetas and non crimped bidirectional fibers.

Finally, the goal of this project is to find viscoelastic behavioural models for fibrous reinforcement under compaction. These generic models would be used to analyse compaction cycles or to support numerical simulations for composite manufacturing by LCM.

Chaire sur les Composites
à Haute Performance
Chaire de recherche du Canada - Niveau I

Étude de la compaction dynamique des renforts fibreux

Professeur : Edu Ruiz
Coordonnateur du projet : Julian Gutiérrez, étudiant(e) Ph.D.

Résumé

photo

L'étude de la réponse des renforts fibreux lorsqu'ils sont compactés durant la fabrication des composites par moulage liquide (Liquid Composite Molding - LCM) est indispensable pour arriver à mieux comprendre un tel procédé. Des aspects comme la vitesse et la force de fermeture du moule, l'épaisseur finale de la pièce et la variation du tenseur de perméabilité, sont couplés et reliés à la nature du renfort fibreux. Des observations expérimentales ont démontré dans le passé que le comportement des renforts sous compression évolue dans le temps. Sous cette approche viscoélastique de la compaction, ce projet vise à étudier la réponse des renforts lors du processus de mise en forme.

Pour cette étude, des instruments tels qu’une machine d'analyse mécanique dynamique (Dynamic Mechanical Thermal Analyser DMTA) et une machine d’essai universelle seront modifiés pour appliquer des cycles de compaction précis au renfort fibreux. Le comportement viscoélastique du renfort sera étudié sous différents aspects incluant la température, le taux volumique de fibres et la vitesse de compaction. L’impact de la nature et de l’architecture du renfort fera aussi l'objet de recherche. Parmi les renforts à tester se trouvent des fibres de verre, des fibres de carbone et des fibres naturelles de type mat à filaments continus, taffetas et bidirectionnel.

Finalement, ce projet vise à trouver des modèles de comportement viscoélastique des renforts fibreux. Ces modèles génériques pourront être utilisés pour l'analyse du cycle de compaction ou pour la simulation numérique de la mise en forme des composites par LCM.