High Performance Composite
Design and Manufacturing
Canada Research Chair - Tier 1

Development of new resin injection process for composite manufacturing in the case of complex geometries

Professors : François Trochu (coordinator)
Edu Ruiz
Project coordinator : Philippe Causse, Ph.D. student

Abstract

photo

The project is part of a program aiming at developing a new injection process for fast manufacturing of high performance composites (thermoset resin + fiber reinforcement). The specific objective of the work is to study the dimensional stability (thickness variation, distortion) of complex parts having strong curvatures. Based on an experimental approach, the project includes the fabrication of parts with two curved regions (right angle) with a specially designed mold.

The flexible injection process allows a controlled deformation of the upper wall of the mold. Thus, the geometry of the final part is the result of a consolidation stage of the saturated reinforcement. To investigate further this consolidation phenomenon in curved sections, the parts are cut and polished to obtain scanned images of longitudinal cross-sections. Preliminary results indicate that the preforming stage has a direct influence on the geometry of the final part. For example, a poor dimensioning of the preform creates resin-rich zones in the curved regions.

Image analysis is also performed with a special program developed with the Matlab software. Thickness profiles thus obtained show significant variations in curved regions. These results indicate that flat and curved regions exhibit different compaction behavior.

Future work will investigate the possible influence of the observed defects (resin-rich zones, thickness variations) on the distortion of the part after demolding (spring-in of curved sections).

Chaire sur les Composites
à Haute Performance
Chaire de recherche du Canada - Niveau I

Développement d'un nouveau procédé d'injection pour la fabrication de pièces composites de géométries complexes

Professeurs : François Trochu (coordonnateur)
Edu Ruiz
Coordonnateur du projet : Philippe Causse, étudiant(e) Ph.D.

Résumé

photo

Le projet s’inscrit dans le programme de développement d’un nouveau procédé d’injection pour la fabrication rapide de composites à haute performance constitués d’une résine thermodurcissable et d’un renfort fibreux. L’objectif du travail est d’étudier la qualité géométrique (variation d’épaisseur, distorsion) de pièces complexes présentant de fortes courbures. Le projet repose sur une approche expérimentale consistant à fabriquer des pièces possédant deux zones courbées (angle droit) à l’aide d’un moule spécialement conçu.

Le procédé d’injection autorise une déformation contrôlée d’une des parois du moule de sorte que la géométrie de la pièce finale résulte d’une phase de consolidation du renfort imprégné. Afin de mieux comprendre le phénomène de consolidation des parties courbées, les pièces fabriquées sont découpées et polies pour obtenir des images scannées de coupes longitudinales. Les résultats montrent que la qualité géométrique des secteurs angulaires dépend principalement des conditions de préformage. Par exemple, un mauvais dimensionnement de la préforme entraîne l’apparition de zones riches en résine dans les régions courbées.

Pour compléter l’inspection visuelle, les images sont traitées à l’aide d’un programme d’analyse réalisé avec le logiciel Matlab. Les profils d’épaisseur ainsi obtenus présentent de fortes variations au niveau des secteurs courbés. Ces résultats mettent donc en évidence une différence de comportement en compaction entre les parties planes et les parties courbées.

Les travaux futurs visent à étudier l’influence des défauts observés (zones riches en résine, variations d’épaisseur) sur la distorsion de la pièce après démoulage (fermeture des secteurs angulaires).